41st International Reggae & World Music Awards: Nominees & Special Honorees Unveiled

In a dazzling display of reggae and world music excellence, the 41st International Reggae & World Music Awards (IRAWMA) is all set to honor the industry’s best talents. Martin’s International, the visionary producer behind IRAWMA, recently unveiled the nominees and special honorees during a live-streamed media press conference on Thursday, January 5th. The anticipation is high as reggae enthusiasts around the globe eagerly await the announcement of winners. This 41st ceremony will be held on Friday, March 22nd 2024, in Lauderhill Florida.

Leading the charge with an impressive five nominations each are Masicka, Spice, and Sean Paul. The trio’s exceptional contributions to the genre have earned them recognition in various categories. Following closely are Dexta Daps and Teejay with four nominations each, while 450 and Pablo YG trail with three nods.

The diverse range of categories showcases the richness of reggae and world music, and fans are encouraged to cast their votes at The public holds the power to determine the winners, with only one vote permitted per person to ensure a fair and transparent process.

41st IRAWMA Nominations Official Launch

Among the notable categories, the prestigious Bob Marley Award for Entertainer of the Year features nominees Koffee, Masicka, Popcaan, Sean Paul, and Shaggy, all vying for the coveted title. The Peter Tosh Award for Recording Artiste of the Year includes heavyweights like Masicka, Popcaan, Sean Paul, Teejay, and Valiant, adding to the competition’s fierce nature.

The musical talent showcased in the Jacob Miller Award for Best Male Vocalist and Best Female Vocalist categories is equally impressive. Artists like Christopher Martin, Chronixx, Dexta Daps, Romain Virgo, Tarrus Riley, Etana, Jada Kingdom, Lila Ike, Shaniel Muir, and Stalk Ashley are all in the running.

The Gregory Isaacs Award for Best Song and the Toots Hibbert Award for Best Album/CD boast an array of stellar tracks and albums, with nominees such as Masicka, Teejay, Mavado, Valiant, Alborosie, Beenie Man, Burning Spears, Julian Marley, and more.

Additionally, the global reach of reggae and world music is acknowledged with categories like Best Latin-Reggaeton Entertainer, Best African-Dancehall Entertainer, Best Afrobeats Entertainer, and Best African Entertainer.

The IRAWMA promises a night of celebration, recognizing not only outstanding artists but also influential figures in the industry. Special awards such as the Bunny Wailer Award for Most Cultural/Educational Entertainer, Mutabaruka Award for Best Poet/Spoken Word Entertainer, Dennis Brown Award for Most Promising Entertainer, and Record Producer of the Year will be presented to those who have left an indelible mark on the reggae and world music landscape.

As the excitement builds up, fans are encouraged to visit for the full list of nominees, special awardees, and categories. Cast your vote and be a part of the 41st IRAWMA, where the world comes together to celebrate the vibrant and influential sounds of reggae and world music.


Entertainer of the Year (Bob Marley Award):

  • Koffee
  • Masicka
  • Popcaan
  • Sean Paul
  • Shaggy

Recording Artiste of the Year (Peter Tosh Award):

  • Masicka
  • Popcaan
  • Sean Paul
  • Teejay
  • Valiant

Best Male Vocalist (Jacob Miller Award):

  • Christopher Martin
  • Chronixx
  • Dexta Daps
  • Romain Virgo
  • Tarrus Riley

Best Female Vocalist:

  • Etana
  • Jada Kingdom
  • Lila Ike
  • Shaniel Muir
  • Stalk Ashley

Best Song (Gregory Isaacs Award):

  • “Tyrant” by Masicka
  • “Drift” by Teejay
  • “21 Psalms” by Mavado
  • “Taliban” by Byron Messia
  • “Mad Out” by Valiant

Best Album/CD (Toots Hibbert Award):

  • “Destiny” by Alborosie
  • “Simma” by Beenie Man
  • “No Destroyer” by Burning Spears
  • “Color of Royal” by Julian Marley
  • “G.O.K” by Masicka

Best Crossover Song:

  • “Taliban” by Byron Messia
  • “Drift” by Teejay
  • “We Can’t Done” by Popcaan & Drake
  • “Unavailable” by Sean Paul, Davido & Ding Dong
  • “Hallelujah Heaven” by Lil Wayne, Buju Banton & Shabba Ranks

Gospel Song (Shelvin L.M/ Priscilla Hall Award):

  • “Goodness of God” by Christopher Martin
  • “Control My Mind” by Jermaine Edwards
  • “Call Him” by Kevin Downswell & Bounty Killer
  • “Strong Faith” by Kevin Heath
  • “Sorry To Hurt Your Feeling” by Marion Hall

Best EP Recording:

  • “Time Bomb” by Bounty Killer & Cham
  • “Mad Love” by Sean Paul
  • “Holiday” by Problem Child
  • “In The Mood” by Shaggy
  • “From Me To You” by Valiant

Best Male Dancehall/DJ/Rapper (U-Roy Award):

  • Alkaline
  • Chronic Law
  • Masicka
  • Sean Paul
  • Teejay

Best Female Dancehall/Rap Artiste:

  • Jada Kingdom
  • Spice
  • Shenseea
  • Spice
  • Shaniel Muir
  • Stefflon Don

Best New Entertainer:

  • 450
  • Byron Messia
  • Najeerii
  • Pablo YG
  • Yung Bredda

Best Calypso/Soca Entertainer:

  • Bunji Garlin
  • Kes
  • Mr. Killa
  • Nailah Blackman
  • Patric Roberts

Best Dancehall Stagecraft Entertainer (Onstage TV Award):

  • Beenie Man
  • Dexta Daps
  • Teejay
  • Masicka
  • Spice

Best Singjay Entertainer:

  • 450
  • Alkaline
  • Chronic Law
  • Dexta Daps
  • Koffee

Dancehall Performer of the Year:

  • Masicka
  • Mavado
  • Teejay
  • Spice
  • Valiant

Best Latin-Reggaeton Entertainer:

  • Bad Bunny
  • Jhayco
  • Daddy Yankee
  • Karol G.
  • Raul Alejandro

Best African-Dancehall Entertainer:

  • Patoranking (Nigeria)
  • Shatta Wale (Ghana)
  • Redsan (Kenya)
  • Stonebwoy (Ghana)
  • Star Zee (Sierra Leone)
  • Winky D (Zimbabwe/South

Best Afrobeats Entertainer:

  • Ajeeze
  • Diamond Platumz
  • Flavour Nabania
  • Naomi Achu
  • Wizkid

Best African Entertainer:

  • Angelique Kidjo
  • Eddy Kenzo
  • Awilo Longomba
  • Fally Ipupa
  • Burna Noy
  • Nonini

Collaborated Song (Reggae/Dancehall with other genre):

  • “Drift Remix” by Teejay & Davido
  • “Gimme” by Koffee & Sam Smith
  • “Hallelujah Heaven” by Lil Wayne, Buju Banton & Shabba Ranks
  • “Talliban II” by Byron Messia & Burna Boy
  • “We Can’t Done” by Drake & Popcaan

Best Music Video:

  • “Talliban II” by Byron Messia & Burna Boy
  • “Aboboyaa” by Popcaan & Burna Boy
  • “Proud” by Chronic Law
  • “Psalm 21” by Mavado
  • “Know Why” by Skillibeng

Best Sound System/ DJ:

  • Bass Odyssey
  • David Rodigan
  • Jah Works
  • L.P. International
  • Stone Love

Caribbean Entertainer:

  • Beenie Man
  • Dexta Daps
  • Sean Paul
  • Machel Montano
  • Roody Roodboy

Record Producer of the Year:

  • Alexx Antaeus
  • Colin “Bulby”
  • Dunwell Production
  • Romeich
  • Rvssian

Concert of the Year:

  • Afro Nation
  • Reggae Sumfest
  • Reggae Rise Up
  • Reggae Sundance
  • Rototom Sunsplash

The full list of nominees can be accessed on the IRAWMA website at

Your Thoughts?


Written by Carib-Celebs

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    Shenseea, Masicka, and Di Genius Unleash the Ultimate Vibes with “Hit & Run”

    Teejay Unveils Exclusive “Dip” Live Session in Collaboration with Vevo CTRL